Facebook Now Lets You Choose Who Controls Your Account After You Die.

Facebook is putting its users in control of what happens to their accounts after they die. Starting today, users in the US will be able to choose to have their accounts deleted after death or grant another person on Facebook permission to manage an account on their behalf. Facebook calls this person an account’s “legacy contact,” and users will be able to choose that person through the website’s or app’s security page.
If you chose to set up a legacy contact, that person will be able to change your profile photo, accept friend requests, and pin announcements on your account’s timeline after Facebook receive notices of your death. A legacy contact won’t be able to post as the account that they’re controlling, nor will they be able to view that person’s private messages. Facebook will also provide an option to let legacy contacts download a file containing an account’s photos, posts, and other information.


Facebook Now Lets You Choose Who Controls Your Account After You Die.

No Comments

Leave a Comment